top of page

OUR VIDEOS/ARTICLES

Thank you for taking the time to visit our videos/articles content section!

 

Here's a tip:

 

In order to participate in the content (liking an article/video or commenting on them), you will have to first register yourself as a member of this community. We have created a Login/Sign Up button below that you can click on and it will redirect you to a page to enter your details. We welcome every single one of you to come and participate, leaving your questions, ideas, suggestions, and sharing thoughts with us.

 

Important Note:

 

onlinelabseries is a highly-regulated lab content learning platform/community, hence we will constantly be monitoring the comments that our members are posting to help ensure that no one is abusing the ability to contribute. And we will not hesitate to remove those individuals or fake accounts that serve only to flood our comments section with useless advertisement links or malicious links.

 

At last, we want to wish you all a great time of learning on onlinelabseries!

Bringing the Best STEM Products & Content to OLS

(An Article by Sherman Chen, Updated on May 23, 2018)

(For some reason the original image is crisp and sharp, but when I upload it to the article, it looks a little blurred, but I've pasted the link here if anyone wants to use it for sharing on your social media feeds to help us promote the lab series - https://drive.google.com/file/d/1eRA5g_i4515imNVEP2f_aX3MbmnX2B8B/view?usp=sharing)


Working with the Best & Most Promising Brands in the STEM Market


Let me just start by saying this: I LOVE STEM EDUCATION!


Now, I'm definitely not considered a professional educator myself. After all, I did come from the technology background. A lot of what I know today regarding STEM research & education started as a hobby and interest years ago. That interest grew into an insatiable passion and I have since been talking about it to lots of people through the years. I believe in the power of STEM education and what it can do for the youths, children as well as introducing woman to the fields of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math. In the recent years especially, STEM has really grown as an industry and the demand for better STEM education is exploding at it's seams.


I believe in the power of STEM education and what it can do for the youths, children as well as introducing woman to the fields of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.

Which is why at onlinelabseries, we want to bring together the best of the best when it comes to STEM learning products. But ofcourse, just like any other lab series we will be creating within this community, we also want to provide the same opportunity to brands that shows a promising future in the industry. For STEM products, clearly, the assessment will be based upon how they will fit into the education/workshop arena for the younger audience.


Research, Research and More Research


Late night Research on my Phone, but that's not me in the Photo
Late night Research on my Phone, but that's not me in the Photo ;P

So, I have done many hours of research online, browsing through more than 50 different product makers and manufacturers when it comes to STEM products, and can I just be honest? There really isn't a lot of brands that I think carries enough potential as compared to micro:bit, littleBits and MakeBlock. Over the last few years, these products have made their way into classrooms around the world as well as weekend workshops for children and youths who wants to pick up something useful outside of their regular classroom homework. They even make the most perfect Christmas presents, birthday presents, you name it. Interesting thing is, kids love them! They won't mind that you didn't give them Lego or Transformers (by the way, I love Lego!). That is just how popular these two brands have became.


...kids love them!

So, back to the subject. After doing so much research, the three brands that I would want to dedicate individual lab series to showcasing, are micro:bit, littleBits and MakeBlock. All three brands make some of the most amazing products you can find when it comes to teaching basic concepts of engineering, science, technology and math to young folks. I like to call them "the young brainiacs"! They are going to be the next-generation of inventors and innovators of our generation, and it is great that we actually have the perfect platform for them to develop that creativity, and also to try and fail in a safe environment (mostly because the products make it safe).


They are going to be the next-generation of inventors and innovators of our generation, and it is great that we actually have the perfect platform for them to develop that creativity, and also to try and fail in a safe environment

micro:bit Educational Foundation


(Click here to visit their website: http://microbit.org/)


In my past experiences of volunteering at STEM workshops around Singapore, I tend to notice more workshops and classes using micro:bit more than littleBits, but I suppose it's because micro:bit has a much faster quick start learning slope. Then again, every brand and product have their own strengths and weaknesses. With littleBits and Makeblock, they clearly have a lot more items within their product kits and catalogue to play with, so that is where their greatest strength is at.


I thought it will probably take us partnering with littleBits and/or MakeBlock before micro:bit would come onboard with us, seeing that micro:bit is more of the go-to (popular) brand for basic level STEM education.

I thought it will probably take us partnering with littleBits and/or MakeBlock before micro:bit would come onboard with us, seeing that micro:bit is more of the go-to (popular) brand for basic level STEM education. But hey, everything happens for a reason. Now that micro:bit is already onboard with us, I guess it's just a matter of time before littleBits and Makeblock says yes to partnering with us for their own dedicated lab series.


Now that micro:bit is already onboard with us, I guess it's just a matter of time before littleBits and Makeblock says yes to partnering with us for their own dedicated lab series.


Anyway, here is a short video that was broadcasted live earlier this morning due to an inspiration that I had about some of the things I wanted to say. It can also serve as the overview video to the dedicated lab series for micro:bit, which will be commencing on June 5, at 11.00 PM (UTC +8). Make sure to mark it down on your calendars. It will comprise of 72 lab sessions (36 sessions each for the learners and educator's learning track respectively), as well as 144 companion articles (1 pre-session and 1 post-session article for each live broadcast session). Those numbers written on our website is merely just the baseline, as sometimes, I might end up introducing a few extra bonus sessions to showcase some interesting ideas and concepts.



littleBits


Doesn't this photo make you want to geek out?
Doesn't this photo make you want to geek out?

(Click here to visit their official website: https://www.littlebits.com/)


To be honest, every single time I walk into a shop and I see products by littleBits, I would totally geek out. I know, I'm actually kind old...turning 36 in a couple of months...maybe still young to some people. But yea, these products never ceases to amaze me! And I love showing them to young kids and youths and explaining how some of the components work and what sort of project ideas they can create with it.


littleBits has one of the most comprehensive STEM product components you can find on the market right now...

littleBits has one of the most comprehensive STEM product components you can find on the market right now, which is also why I have shortlisted the brand as one that we would love to partner with and feature on OLS. They make the perfect STEM education kit because this one brand will have you covered for anything you want to teach and demonstrate. It's really up to your imagination.


They make the perfect STEM education kit because this one brand will have you covered for anything you want to teach and demonstrate. It's really up to your imagination.

Now if littleBits does agree to partner with us, we will not only be exploring project ideas with the youths that are interested, but we will also be sharing articles and lab sessions for instructors, people like yourself who's keen on getting new ideas for your littleBits workshop.


MakeBlock


(Click here to visit their official website: http://www.makeblock.com/)


Right after littleBits, not in order of who's better, we also want to bring MakeBlock onto OLS. Both Makeblock and littleBits are like the dream products and brands if you are starting out as a STEM educator, or planning to get into STEM education research. Why? Personally, and speaking from a professional standpoint, I have a gift of being able to detect if some products or brands actually have a great future ahead. Call it sixth sense, or instinct or intuition. But I know. And I am usually always right.


When it comes to learning about robotics, understanding mechanical movements and so on, using the robotics products from MakeBlock is absolutely perfect. I even took the chance to explore every available product items in the catalog, trust me, they are as comprehensive as it gets.


I even took the chance to explore every available product items in the catalog, trust me, they are as comprehensive as it gets.

Time to Get Started


So, if you are an educator, or you are thinking about kick-starting your own STEM education or workshop, then I must seriously encourage you to look at the above three brands. I am constantly doing my research online to find out what is happening around the world and what products are readily accessible regardless of which remote corner of the world you are living in; and I will share more details and brands if I ever find something promising.


If they are any good, or great, I would most definitely have heard of them by now. If not, well, my sincere apologise, but maybe you just haven't made yourself known at that scale...yet. *hint hint*


I hope that this article will really help potential STEM educators and researchers. And if you are thinking of the perfect gift for your child, favourite nephew or niece, or grandchildren, don't hesitate anymore, go grab micro:bit, littleBits or MakeBlock, best yet, get all three!


...if you are thinking of the perfect gift for your child, favourite nephew or niece, or grandchildren, don't hesitate anymore, go grab micro:bit, littleBits or MakeBlock, best yet, get all three!
39 views0 comments
bottom of page