top of page

OUR VIDEOS/ARTICLES

Thank you for taking the time to visit our videos/articles content section!

 

Here's a tip:

 

In order to participate in the content (liking an article/video or commenting on them), you will have to first register yourself as a member of this community. We have created a Login/Sign Up button below that you can click on and it will redirect you to a page to enter your details. We welcome every single one of you to come and participate, leaving your questions, ideas, suggestions, and sharing thoughts with us.

 

Important Note:

 

onlinelabseries is a highly-regulated lab content learning platform/community, hence we will constantly be monitoring the comments that our members are posting to help ensure that no one is abusing the ability to contribute. And we will not hesitate to remove those individuals or fake accounts that serve only to flood our comments section with useless advertisement links or malicious links.

 

At last, we want to wish you all a great time of learning on onlinelabseries!

We are Crowdfunding to Keep onlinelabseries Going

I actually felt like typing this blog yesterday, but decided to wait until today because I usually type a better blog when I am either feeling fresh in the morning or when I feel the #inspiration to write about something amazing. So, today, I wanted to a moment to just share with all of you, regarding 3 of the #crowdfunding campaigns that I have started recently. There are different objectives for each of those crowdfunding campaigns as I felt it would give people that decide to back those campaigns an option of deciding which campaign they wanted to support. I get it, some people will feel more comfortable supporting one than the other. And if I had tried to put it all into one campaign, it will be too much information to squeeze together as well. Keeping it separate also helps to make things clear.


So, let's get right into it.


Raising US$9800 for OLS' Operations


Crowdfunding Campaign Link: http://bit.ly/2QjONd5

The very first crowdfunding campaign should always be the most important one. That's why I put it right at the top of this blog. And that is the crowdfunding campaign to raise US$9,800 so that I can actually invest some money into building a more professional-looking website than this one. Honestly, in my years of experiences of building websites for people as well as owning some websites of my own, onlinelabseries really deserves a lot better than what I have created so far using Wix. No offence wix, but you provide a great web management UX, but the customer experience so far really sucks. So, I'm afraid I am going to take my platform somewhere else.


My Experience as a Featured Tech Blogger (2014 - 2016)

One of those things that makes me good at what I do - content creation, is the fact that I have been doing it for a very long time. Taking my experiences as a tech blogger and general blogger, I have picked up many different skills through the years. One of those skills includes #wordpress. If you watched the video, you will know that I intend to invest roughly US$2,500 in the first year on the website management and content creation alone. That amount comes from experience as well.


Video Content Hosting (Vimeo Live)

Another area that is important to the overall strategy and goal for onlinelabseries, is to be able to host our live video content and streaming on a dedicated platform (away from YouTube). We also made it clear from within our YouTube channel's "About" section.


In my experience of working with video content creation, most viewers tend to share that same psychology that what they view from a dedicated platform usually means there is something "premium" about it, or better than the normal mainstream YouTube videos.


Plus on a professional-level, I have been a business user and supporter of the brand for years. And among so many different platforms I have tried before, I find Vimeo to be a brand that is not only cost effective, but also projects enough "premium" perception with regards to the kind of professional, yet fun learning content that I would love to deliver in the near future.


One Year of Vimeo Live will cost roughly US$912
One Year of Vimeo Live will cost roughly US$912

Video Production Equipment (Hardware)

Another important aspect of our long-term operations is the fact that we need the right video production equipment. Honestly, if I could, I would love to invest in a decent level videocamera, something like the Panasonic HC-X1 (see the image below for what it looks like).



Over the years, I have done many different video productions in the spaces of tech and engineering. Though I might not have worked with the Panasonic range of video cameras, I have taken the advice from some of the most professional YouTubers and video content creators on social media.


But because of the initial costs and investment, I've decided to dial it down a little, at least for a start. As onlinelabseries grows and becomes bigger and better, in the near future, I might just create a dedicated crowdfunding campaign to raise money for the HC-X1 as well. But hey, if you are reading this and you have a HC-X1 that is used but still in a 9.0/10.0 condition and you like to make a contribution to onlinelabseries, you can read out to me and we can talk: onlinelabseries@gmail.com


Panasonic GH5

So, if I won't be using the HC-X1, what would I be using? The answer is right below.


Panasonic Lumix GH5
Panasonic Lumix GH5

By the way, you should probably know that even as a photography geek for more than 5 years before I even started onlinelabseries, I have always been fascinated with the art of photography and videography. I love shooting nature, people, time-lapses and you name it.


When the opportunity came for me to use my skills in the area of creating tech- and engineering-related videos, I found it quite natural, especially after many years of playing with such hardwares.


For onlinelabseries itself, the Panasonic GH5 is one such model that is perfect for use with live streaming experiences and content creation. This one came from a professional YouTuber that I have come to respect a lot on social media.


There are also a bunch of other accessories and tripod stand that will complement the camera itself. So, you can find all of that within the campaign video.


Raising US$10,000 for a Mobile Workstation


Crowdfunding Campaign Link: http://bit.ly/2OcuRY4

I won't consider this the next step, but it is just something that I am concurrently running and managing on Indiegogo. Let's assume that the prior crowdfunding campaign above succeeds and I am able to raise US$9,800 for everything that is needed for onlinelabseries. The next most important thing I must have is a proper workstation. A workstation that is capable enough for me to do all of the video production work, content creation, graphics editing, installing of all the different softwares and tools that I need.


Frankly, I can't quite do all of that with my current MacBook Pro.


Truth is, there have already been word spreading around, behind my back that these crowdfunding campaigns seem like a scam. I have been sharing this on social media as well, honestly, I could have been offended, or rush to defend myself against those claims. But I didn't. Instead, I chose to keep my cool about it. Why? Because the person who ends up defending themselves for everything usually seems like the guilty one.


I've learned that in life, sometimes we just have to keep our cool and ignore the negative things that others are trying to spread about us. In this current situation, the best thing I can do is to keep persisting and keep trying until I finally succeed.


Here are a few of the shortlisted potential mobile workstations that I might be investing in should I be able to raise the funds.


From left to right (top to bottom): Origin PC's ND-17, Dell Precision 7720, Lenovo ThinkPad P71, MSI WT73VR


There are two other high-end laptops that I have found which also fits the hardwares specifications and performance requirements, although I will consider them my last options. I have also listed the above image gallery in terms of what I believe to be the most ideal workstation that I will likely invest the funds on (when I manage to raise it eventually).


Raising US$42,000 for the Sonox G4 PC Workstation


Crowdfunding Campaign Link: http://bit.ly/2nKARLU

You might think that raising money for the mobile workstation should be enough. Well, you are not entirely wrong to say that. Yes. In light of everything that is going on for onlinelabseries, the early successes, the growth that we have been experiencing, having the mobile workstation would really be a good start for the learning platform itself. But I have my eyes sight on much more in the near future.


onlinelabseries is not just an online STEM education learning platform, in fact, we also want to provide skills training in area subjects and fields spreading from Sciences, Technology and Mathematics itself. But there is also many other things that are considered useful skills like photography, video content creation & editing, photo editing (Photoshop skills) and so much more.


In the areas of technology (I come from that background myself), there are plans to cover more complex concepts and lessons on topics like Artificial Intelligence (Machine Learning), Data Analytics & Mining operations. As a cross being technology and gaming, we also want to look into subjects and skills like Game Design and Development, so that includes 3D Animations (Maya, 3DS Max, Unity, AR, VR, MR and more). In the area of engineering, you can consider the Autodesk software suite. But the most common ones are usually AutoCAD & EAGLE. But there is much much more that can be done.


Taking all of that into consideration, and me being the central point for all operations of onlinelabseries at the moment, I will be doing most of the heavy-lifting.


The Sonox G4 Workstation by Utopia Computers.
The Sonox G4 Workstation by Utopia Computers. Over so many brands and models that I have compared. Under the US$50K range, this is the best in the market right now. Plus it's AIO, which means it is the most cost-effective solution and allows me to do whatever I want to do like I have a fully equipped studio environment.

Self-Taught like Thomas Edison


For someone who is multi-talented like myself (I won't claim to be an expert though, but I dare to say that I am pretty pretty good at many of those skills that I have picked up on my own), I have picked up on many skills, knowledge and experiences over the years. I am basically self-taught...mostly....I would say about 80-90% of everything that I know right now are self-taught. But so is Thomas Edison who invested the light bulb. Our lives would be very different today if he had not done what he did.


I bet that some of you reading this probably wouldn't have known if I didn't mention it. But Thomas Edison, someone so revered in the science and engineer industry, is actually a self-taught individual. Before I ever knew about this fact, I always thought that he must be some Scientist with lots of Ph.Ds and so on. Or whatever his inventions were based upon must be something that he has studied in a university somewhere before. But he didn't.


Knowing that fact really encouraged me as I continue to build onlinelabseries into what I believe it has the potential of becoming.


In Closing

If you have actually read the entire blog up to this point, I want to say thank you because honestly, I admit that this is a long one. But I didn't want to create 3 separate blog articles just to talk about each crowdfunding campaign. It's silly.


So, my hopes is that by sharing with you about why I have created this crowdfunding campaigns, it will somehow inspire you to support either one, two or all of the campaigns that you have just seen above. That's my hope.

17 views0 comments
bottom of page